Lizzard’s Lemon Basil Horseradish Hummus

Lizzard's Lemon Basil Horseradish Hummus
Lizzard’s Lemon Basil Horseradish Hummus

Lizzard’s Lemon Basil Horseradish Hummus

I love hummus!  And I like it spicy!  And I love the flavor and spice that horseradish adds.  I had a taste for hummus today and whipped up this tasty combination!

Follow me on Facebook for more recipes and kitchen TIPS 
I  am growing fresh basil in my kitchen herb garden, so I decided to add some to this, and I love the flavor with the lemon!  Also, it may seem a little unusual, but I like using peanut butter instead of tahini paste.  That is mostly because I used to have a hard time finding tahini paste in my local store.  I ran across this little tip on an Internet search and have used it ever since. Just make sure you use a natural peanut butter that is low in sugar.  It adds the nutty flavor that hummus needs.

Basil plant
Basil plant

 

 

Try adding a piece of fresh basil on top – OMG Yum!  Adding some chopped tomato on top would be great too.

Lemon Basil Horseradish Hummus
Lemon Basil Horseradish Hummus

ingredients:
1 can chickpeas
Juice of 1/2 lemon (2 tablespoons)
1 tablespoon horseradish (add more for more spice!)
2 tablespoons horseradish sauce
5 or 6 Yellow pepper rings (the hot ones)
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon each of salt & pepper
2 tablespoons tahini paste or peanut butter (use the natural kind)
3-4 basil leaves
1 Tablespoon parmesan cheese
3-4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil – divided

directions:
Put all the ingredients and 2 tablespoons of olive oil into a blender or food processor. I use a small ninja blender. Pulse several times, then blend on high for 1 minute, or until you reach the consistency you like. Add more olive oil as necessary. If you can add olive oil to your blender while you’re blending, you may want to stream some into the hummus while blending to reach the desired consistency.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

