Best-Ever Pork Chops for the Pressure Cooker

The original recipe for these chops came from CD Kitchen, entitled “Best-Ever Chops, and boy were they right!  These are THE BEST pork chops ever!  You will not be disappointed if you try this recipe – trust me!  They come out so tender, and with the combination of vinegar and sugar in the sauce they have a nice sweet/sour taste.  They remind me of pork chops that my mamma used to make.  I like to serve these with a baked potato on the side, but you could also serve with rice.  I usually like to use bone-in chops for this recipe, but since I had boneless chops on hand, that is what I used – so feel free to use either.

IMG_1350
Cook’s Essential Pressure Cooker

I love, love, love my new pressure cooker!  Who knew that I would prefer fast cooking to slow cooking?!  If you don’t have one you might want to think about getting one.   It is so easy and quick!  And the advertising is perfectly correct – all of the sauces and spices that  you put into a pressure cooker infuse the meat with flavor,  and so far everything has come out nice and tender.  I don’t always have that happen with the slow cooker. This was one of the first recipes of mine that I tried in the pressure cooker and it and it came out perfect.  I will be sharing more recipes with you very soon, I promise.

Like I mentioned, I have made this recipe in the slow cooker and it turns out great that way as well.  I’m just as sure that you could throw these into the oven too.  If you choose to use the slow cooker cook on low for 4 to 5 hours.

IMG_1353
Sweet & Sour Pork Chops

ingredients:

  • 4 pork chops, each about 1/2 inch thick
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 large green bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 can (14.5 ounce size) fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup beef broth (or use beef bouillon cube mixed with water)
  • *2 tablespoons cornstarch and 2 tablespoons water – to thicken just before serving

 

directions:

IMG_1345
Browning the pork chops in a frying pan

Start by seasoning the pork chops with some salt and pepper.  Heat oil and brown in a frying pan over medium heat.  You could also brown them with the browning feature in the pressure cooker, however my pressure cooker is on the smaller side so I browned them on the stove.  I also sautéed the onions and peppers in the frying pan before putting them into the pressure cooker.

Put the sautéed veggies into a bowl and add the tomatoes, ketchup, vinegar, sugar, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce.  Mix to combine.

IMG_1344
Mix the veggies with the rest of the ingredients
Nestle chops in sauce
Nestle chops in sauce

 

Put 1/2 of the tomato mixture into the pressure cooker.  Nestle the pork chops on top, then add the rest of the tomato mixture.

IMG_1349
Cover with rest of the sauce

Set the pressure cooker for 20 minutes. The pressure cooker will take a few minutes to come to pressure and then it will start counting down.

Once the 20 minutes are up, allow the pressure cooker to decompress naturally.  Remove the chops to a platter and set your pressure cooker to the browning mode.  Add the cornstarch and water and continue to stir till the sauce thickens.  Serve with a baked potato or rice.  You will love it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

