Crispy Cajun Shrimp & Pasta

IMG_1117a
 Source:  Crispy Shrimp Pasta, from Kevin & Amanda

I love shrimp, but I don’t really make it at home too often, and when I do I usually just steam it and dip in butter or shrimp sauce (not too exciting, I know).   When I ran into this recipe I knew I had to try it.  I made a few “tweaks” to this recipe (mine is spicier!)

This was the first time I ever tried breading shrimp and pan frying them, and I’ll tell you what – it will not be the last time!  Check out the link to Kevin & Amanda’s blog for step-by-step directions on how to fry the shrimp.  They make it so easy!

Since I live in the Midwest I buy my shrimp frozen with the shells on.   Shrimp that has already been peeled and deveined can loose some flavor and texture so I always buy them with shells on and then clean them.

It was so easy!  Just add your pasta and some veggies on the side.  I used linguine and added broccoli to the sauce for this meal.  Trust me, this is a nice spicy shrimp and pasta dish that is very easy to make!

 

Ingredients:

4 oz fettuccine pasta
¾ lb raw shrimp, peeled, deveined and tails removed
1 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper
2 tbsp flour
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp butter
1¼ cups low-sodium chicken broth
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1 Tablespoon garlic powder
1 oz cream cheese
½ cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon cajun seasoning (or more if you want spicy!)

Steamed broccoli

Instructions:

Cook pasta according to package directions.

Sprinkle shrimp with salt, pepper, and 1/2 tablespoon Cajun seasoning and toss to combine. Sprinkle 1 tbsp of flour mixture over the shrimp, and toss to coat the shrimp. Sprinkle 1 more tbsp flour mixture and toss to evenly coat the shrimp.

Melt butter and olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. When hot, add the shrimp in a single layer and cook on each side, flipping once, until golden brown, approximately 2-3 minutes per side. Remove to plate.

IMG_1116a

Pour the chicken broth into the skillet and cook for about 5 minutes, whisking the bottom of the pan to deglaze. Reduce heat to medium and pour in the cream, remaining Cajun spice and garlic powder, whisking constantly. Cook sauce over medium heat until bubbly and the cream starts to thicken the mixture, about 5 minutes. Taste the sauce and add seasonings as desired (salt, pepper, cajun seasonings, etc.)  Add the drained pasta and shrimp to the sauce, and stir to combine.

I used the remaining flour and mixed with a little warm water added to the sauce to thicken. You could use corn starch too if sauce is not thick enough.

I added some steamed broccoli to the sauce just before serving.  Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

