Apricot Chicken

IMG_1166aa

 

This is an amazing, flavorful, and actually good for you, chicken dish. It is low sodium and low fat, but that doesn’t even matter to me because it tastes so good! I have been making this recipe for years and it is one of my go-to recipes that always pleases.  Trust me, really, this is easy and delicious!

This recipe comes from The Frugal Gourmet cookbook, which I love!  I get a lot of recipes from this book, and I’ll be sharing them in the future.

The first time I told my hubby that I was making “apricot chicken” he grimaced a little, and I wasn’t sure he was going to like it.  But it has become one of his favorite dishes.  

I love the tarragon and dill combined with the apricots.  Such a simple mixture, but what a great taste!  The apricot paste is so simple – just blend canned apricots, drained, with tarragon and dill. Done!  Pour over the marinated chicken and bake.  The sauce this makes is a sweet, garlicy, yummy sauce that I serve over rice and steamed broccoli.  You will love this recipe!

Apricot, dill and tarragon in the blender.
Apricot, dill and tarragon in the blender.

 

Sometimes it’s difficult to find canned apricots , so I have substituted canned peaches, and it turned out quite good. Also, the original recipe uses dried dill and tarragon, but I’m sure you could substitute with fresh tarragon if you have it.

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

4 cloves of garlic (or more if you like garlic)
½ cup dry white wine
2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2, 12 ounce cans of apricots (no pits)
1 teaspoon dried dill
1 teaspoon dried tarragon

Crush the garlic into the wine and marinate the chicken for about 2 hours.  If you’re running out of time you can marinate this for less time, but at least an hour is recommended.  I usually just place the chicken and the marinade into a ziplock plastic bag and put it into the fridge, turning several times while at marinates.

 

Chicken in wine and garlic marinade.
Chicken in wine and garlic marinade.

While the chicken is marinating, open the apricots and drain the juice completely.  Place the apricots in a blender or food processor with the dill and tarragon and blend to a paste.

Chicken with apricot sauce before going in oven
Chicken with apricot sauce before going in oven

 

 

Place the chicken, marinade and all, into a lightly oiled baking dish. Pour the apricot paste over the top of chicken and bake at 375 uncovered, for 45 minutes

 

 

 

 

Chicken after coming out of oven.
Chicken after coming out of oven.

 

 

 

I like to serve with rice and freshly steamed broccoli. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

