Totally Addicting Jarlsberg Cheese Dip

IMG_1151a
Jarlsberg Cheese Dip

I absolutely love this dip!  It is so addicting, I can’t stop eating it!

I first tried this dip when my friend Kim (thanks Kim!) made some for a party many moons ago, and I’ve been hooked ever since. People in our circle always ask her to make this dip when we have parties – everyone loves it!  I have been wanting to share this recipe on my blog for so long now, I decided to whip up a batch this weekend so I could take pictures. (Full disclosure – I have now eaten this whole bowl in the last 2 days – I am so ashamed!)

Jarlsberg cheese is a swiss cheese from Jarlsberg, Norway.  It is slightly more mild than domestic swiss cheese and has a nice nutty flavor.  Jarlsberg can be a little pricey so you could mix some domestic Swiss cheese with it, or just use domesitc Swiss, to save a few pennies.  The flavor will not be exactly the same, but it should be tasty.

I serve this with crackers, but you could also use for:

*Topping for a baked potatoes
*Stuffing for mushrooms
*As a base for a pizza topped with colorful veggies

*Serve it as a hot dip!  I have never tried this, but I did see someone suggest baking this at 375 for 20 minutes until brown and bubbly and serving with tortilla chips. That sounds yummy!

And did I mention that it’s incredibly easy to make too!

IMG_1141a
Ingredients used for the dip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

2 cups shredded Jarlsberg cheese
2 to 3 heaping tablespoons mayo (not Miracle Whip)
1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped
Chopped parsley, fresh
Salt & pepper
Crackers, for serving

Directions:
Remove the hard rind from the cheese and shred it rather coarsely – I use the large grate on a box grater, you don’t want it too finely grated.  Add the mayo, red onion, salt and pepper to your shredded cheese.  Add a little more mayo if it seems too dry. You only want enough mayo to hold it together, so don’t over-do.

Stir in chopped parsley at the end.  Serve with crackers, and enjoy.  I love melba toast with mine, but your favorite cracker will do.

IMG_1147a

I like to let it sit in the fridge for a while before serving so that the flavors can meld together. The parsley is optional but I like the flavor it adds to the dip. You can also try adding some chopped pecans, which I did here, to give it a little crunch.

Enjoy!

 

 

Follow you favorite blogs at Bloglovin!

Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

