Lizzard’s Spicy Sausage Gravy

Spicy Sausage Gravy 1

I love biscuits and gravy for breakfast!   But I’m always disappointed when I order them at a restaurant because there’s never enough sausage or spice for my taste.  I usually end up adding a ton of pepper and hot sauce just to make it taste good.

So I decided to find a recipe for some really spicy gravy and make it at home!   I found the recipe for  Paula Dean’s Sawmill Gravy and it sounded good.  I tweaked it a little by adding a little “kick”, and boy is it good!  And so easy, I don’t know why I didn’t try this sooner.

If you don’t like spicy just leave out the red pepper flakes and the hot sauce. Serve with your choice of biscuits – I used Pillsbury Grands.

Ingredients

1 lb ground sausage
4 slices thick-cut bacon, diced
1/2 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons black pepper
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon hot sauce (I like Tapatio, but use what you have on hand)
1 cup half and half
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter

Preparation

Dice the bacon and onion and mince the garlic.  Place the sausage in a large skillet and brown the sausage with the bacon, onion and garlic. Cook over medium heat until the sausage is browned and crumbles.

Stir in the flour, salt and pepper and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Gradually stir in the half and half and milk (you can use all milk if you prefer).  I only put enough of the milk and/or half & half in till the gravy is the consistency that I like, which is very thick.  Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the mixture is thickened.  At the end stir in the butter until well blended, or omit completely if you don’t want the extra fat. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

