Sweet & Salty NESTLÉ® Toll House® Cookies

 

Well my sister-in-law Linda is the winner of my Face Book request to suggest a good cookie recipe for my upcoming cookie exchange.  Thanks Linda!  She suggested making Toll House Cookies, which I agreed was a great idea.

0C78F3FC-EE40-408D-A875-3E6C34281183

You can’t go wrong with Toll House cookies, and I found this recipe for a twist on the traditional Toll House Cookie that I thought would work for Christmas.  It calls for adding potato chips and pretzels to the cookie dough.  Since I had both on hand, I thought this would be a great way to use them up.  This turned out pretty easy to make and the results were very tasty!  I can’t wait to try some more variations on the basic Toll House recipe.

If you want to go right to the source, the recipe for these cookies is located on the Nestle Toll House Cookies page.

My cookies did not look exactly like theirs, but I think they looked pretty good – and they certainly tasted great!  I excluded the nuts in my cookies, and I used mini-morsels instead of the regular size ones.

Here is the recipe that I followed:

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
  • 2 cups coarsely broken rippled potato chips
  • 1 cup small pretzel twists, broken into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup unsalted peanuts (optional)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375° F.5F090A89-8D40-4E0E-9F8C-C688FA1BA255

Prepare 2 cookie sheets by placing parchment paper on them.  I highly recommend using the parchment paper.  I did not have any sticking issue at all, which was always a problem for me.

Combine the dry ingredients into a bowl (flour, baking soda and salt) and mix with a whisk or fork.

Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture and mix till dough is smooth.

0E7D220E-BC9D-4BC9-BD32-CF0284DFB2CD

Stir in morsels, potato chips, pretzel pieces and nuts. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

E0F37B03-40ED-401E-8B71-0C005BFBC775

Leave a Reply

