Cheesy Guinness Beer Bread

Today I had a craving for home-made bread to go with my soup, so I decided to throw together some beer bread.  Beer bread is so easy to make because you just mix the ingredients together and bake – there is no waiting for the dough to rise because the recipe calls for self rising flour.13D6C680-EF24-4F59-BFFE-01DDA56FDA98

The basic beer bread recipe is just self rising flour, sugar and a bottle of your favorite beer.  You can add other spices and/or cheese to create your own bread, which is what I decided to so.  Since I had Guinness beer on hand I used that for the beer.  I thought that garlic and onion would work with the Guinness, and added the cheese as an after thought because I had some extra in the frig.  I think that next time I will add some jalapenos to the batter to spice it up a bit!

This would be great with chili, or you could also serve this as an appetizer by cutting the bread into bite size pieces and serving with a garlic dip. That would be yummy!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups self rising flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 12 oz beer – I used Guinness
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a bread pan and set aside.

Put all of the flour and sugar into your mixing bowl.  Turn the mixer on and pour the beer into the flour and sugar mixture, slowly mixing for a minute or two till everything is well blended.  Add the spices and cheese and mix for a few seconds till everything is incorporated.

Pour the batter into a greased bread pan and bake in a 350 degree oven for 45 to 55 minutes, till a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

