Sausage & Pepper Frittata

Sausage & Pepper Frittata
Sausage & Pepper Frittata

I had heard before, on the many cooking shows that I watch, that a Sunday Frittata is a great way to use up leftovers at the end of the week. But I have to admit that I have never tried to make one till now. A frittata is basically an egg casserole, or a quiche without the crust – and crust less is always better for me, to avoid the extra carbs.

I had some leftover polish sausage and peppers from dinner, along with some shredded cheeses, so I decided to incorporate them into a nice breakfast frittata.

I chopped the sausage into smaller pieces and sautéed them with the peppers, fresh onions and some corn that I had just recently gotten from the local farmers market.  I used Swiss and mozzarella cheeses that I had on hand, but you could use whatever cheese (or other ingredient’s for that matter) you have available.

My twist on this is to add some French dressing when you sauté the veggies.  I got this little tip from a restaurant I worked at years ago – it really adds a nice flavor.

So easy, and very yummy!

Sausage & Pepper Frittata

ingredients

2 precooked Sausages (I used polish sausage)
1 Green pepper, sliced
1 Onion, sliced
4 Eggs
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup shredded Swiss cheese
1 Tomato
2 tablespoons French dressing
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper

directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Sauté the onions in some olive oil till translucent.  Add the peppers and continue to sauté till the peppers are soft (this will take less time if you are using leftover peppers that have already been sautéed).  Add Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and French dressing to the sautéed vegetables at this time.  Add the sausage and corn to the pan and continue to sauté for a few minutes.

Whisk the eggs together ( I used my ninja blender ) and add the eggs and the cheese to the sautéed veggies, then pour all into a greased casserole, or line it with parchment paper.  If you prefer you could use an oven proof skillet when sauteing and just pop it into the oven. I also added sliced tomatoes to the top and a little extra cheese.

Bake covered for 20 minutes, then uncover and bake for 10 more minutes until the cheese on top is slightly browned.

Leave a Reply

