Pickled Jalapeños and Yellow Peppers

 

This year I grew jalapeño’s and hot yellow peppers in my garden and holy cow, I’ve got lots!  What to do now?

I ran across this great website which helped me out:

Jalapeño Madness!
http://www.jalapenomadness.com/preserve_jalapenos.html#.Ug-fwSYo6M9

They have loads of information on jalapeños and preserving your harvest.  So I decided to pickle them!

Here is the recipe I used which I “tweaked” it a little:

  • 2 cups white distilled vinegar
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 10 peppercorns
  • 4 cloves crushed garlic
  • 2 tablespoons fresh oregano (also from my garden)
  • Chopped onions (optional)

This made enough liquid to do 3 pints.  (I did not process these for storing since I planned on using them right away, but you could do that as well.)

Combine all of the above (except onions) and simmer for 10 minutes.
Place sliced jalapenos and some onions and a couple cloves of garlic into packing jars.  Cover with the boiling brine (I strained mine when pouring over the peppers). Let cool for fifteen minutes then refrigerate.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

